Call 0141 554 3355

Compulsory Basic training

Compulsory basic training is available to anyone over the age of 16 who holds a provisional licence. Anyone wishing to ride a motorcycle must first complete Compulsory Basic Training.

The CBT course syllabus includes five elements that have to be completed in sequence:

  1. Introduction
  2. Practical on site training
  3. Practical on site riding
  4. Practical on road training
  5. Practical on road riding
After completion you receive certificate DL196 that is valid for a total of 2 years. In this time you have to pass both the motorbike theory and practical tests or you will be required to sit CBT again.

New 2 Part Motorcycle Test October 2008

The new two part Motorcycle Test commences on 29 September 2008. This has been introduced by the European Commission in the guise of EU Licence Directive 2. The only DSA site for the West of Scotland to be open at the start of this test is Glasgow.